Extended Museum Berggruen: Stülerbau, glass pavillon & Kommandantenhaus, Photo:
Museum Berggruen interior, Photo: HC Krass
Museum Berggruen interior, Photo: HC Krass
Museum Berggruen interior, Photo: H.C. Krass
Museum Berggruen interior, Photo: H.C. Krass
Museum Berggruen interior, Photo: H.C. Krass
Museum Berggruen interior, rotunda spiral staircase. Photo: H.C. Krass

Museum Berggruen counts among the world’s most important museums for twentieth-century art. Over the course of 66 years Heinz Berggruen assembled this collection of superb works of art by some of the most influential artists of the twentieth century: Pablo Picasso, Henri Matisse, Paul Klee, and Alberto Giacometti.

Upon invitation from the National Museums of Berlin in 1996, Heinz Berggruen (1914–2007) exhibited his art collection under the title Picasso and his Era across from the Charlottenburg Palace in the classicist building by Friedrich August Stüler, which was refurbished for the purpose. Four years later, in an internationally appreciated gesture of reconciliation, he pledged to bequeath the extensive collection of 165 artworks to his hometown of Berlin and the public. After his death the family decided to augment the museum with the privately owned works, for which the neighboring building on Spandauer Damm was connected to the existing building. A sculpture garden in the interior courtyard enriches the Charlottenburg museums ensemble.

Berggruen Collection

Heinz Berggruen bought his first work of art in 1940 at the age of 26 during his American exile in San Francisco: the aquarelle Perspektiv-Spuk by Paul Klee. Without any capital or sponsors he opened his gallery in Paris seven years later and began collecting art. He relied on his sense of quality and his intuition, concentrating consciously on the works of a small number of classic modern masters. Pablo Picasso granted him the privilege of being the exclusive dealer of his prints. While building his Picasso collection with works from all of the artist’s creative phases, Heinz Berggruen over the following fifty years also concentrated on collecting works by Henri Matisse, Paul Klee, and Alberto Giacometti. He was the first – during the artist’s lifetime – to discover the importance of Matisse’s almost abstract later works. The collection of Matisse works is the largest exhibited collection in Germany. Heinz Berggruen first exhibited his entire collection publically at the Art Museum of Genf in 1988; it was then on display in the National Gallery of London for five years before moving to the Stülerbau in Berlin-Charlottenburg, opposite to Charlottenburg Palace, which had been refurbished specifically for the collection.

The Berggruen Collection focuses on the art of Pablo Picasso and holds over 100 works from all of his creative phases. Beginning with a study sketch made at the age of 16, the collection includes works from Picasso’s Rose and Blue Periods, cubism, classicism, and the late works up until 1972. African sculptures augment the exhibition of Picasso’s works. Individual artworks by Georges Braque and Henri Laurens also complement the collection.

The Berggruen Collection’s second focus, with over sixty works, is the poetic art of Paul Klee. The twenty works by Henri Matisse represent the largest publically exhibited collection of his work in Germany. Sculptures by Alberto Giacometti both open and close the presentation of the collection in the Museum Berggruen.

 

Pablo Picasso, Der gelbe Pullover, 1939

Henri Matisse, Die Seilspringerin, 1952

 

Olivier Berggruen: The Museum Berggruen Collection

The newly expanded Museum Berggruen gives the collection assembled by my late father, Heinz Berggruen, the breadth and space that it deserved. The division of the collection into two wings, one devoted primarily to Picasso, the other one to Cézanne, Matisse, Giacometti and Klee, allows for the visitor to get a sense of the development of these artists’ careers, and also the way in which their works are connected.

My fathers’ collection, born out of the geographical displacement caused by the second World War--he bought his first Klee drawing from another German émigré in Chicago in 1940--went through numerous incarnations over the years. It was first presented to the public at the Musée d’art et d’histoire in Geneva in 1988. 

As the American chronicler James Lord once remarked, Heinz Berggruen was primarily interested in the work of a handful of modernist artists; Klee, Picasso, Cézanne, Matisse and Giacometti became the pillars of his collection.

My father was also the spiritual heir to the dealer-collectors of the early twentieth century, such as Wilhelm Uhde and D.H. Kahnweiler, with whom he shared common German roots and a similar aesthetic sensibility. The central figure in his aesthetic upbringing, however, was the English art critic and collector Douglas Cooper (1911-1984).  At a young age Cooper had the means to assemble a significant collection of modern art, which he later displayed at the Château de Castille in the south of France. He shunned established artists of the École de Paris (Bonnard, Vuillard, Rouault, Matisse during his years in Nice) in favour of what he termed “authentic” Cubism, that of Braque and Picasso, Léger and Gris.  He viewed Cubism not so much as a style but as a form of artistic expression of a generation that was as equally brilliant as the one that had allowed the Italian Renaissance to flourish. Although it remains controversial, such a vision became deeply influential in our way of understanding Modernism.

My father befriended Cooper, and eventually acquired some works of art (by Klee among others) from his collection. Apart from Picasso, Cooper was the greatest influence on his career. In the nineteen-fifties, Heinz Berggruen was successful enough as an art dealer and publisher to start collecting and buying in a serious manner.  Among his first notable acquisitions was Cézanne’s portrait of his gardener Vallier, a vibrant watercolour from the late period, formerly in the Vollard collection. It is now one of two seminal works in a ground-floor gallery devoted to Cézanne in the new wing of the museum; the other one is a contemplative portrait of the artist’s wife, Hortense Fiquet.

Paul Klee, Versiegelte Dame, 1930

Klee was naturally among the first artists whom he collected in greater depth. Examples of his work came from Paul Éluard, who was one of the first collectors of Klee in France, from Douglas Cooper, and from Marie-Laure de Noailles, the unofficial patron of the Surrealist group. The Klee collection evolved a great deal over the years, with a milestone reached in 1984, when Heinz Berggruen donated 90 works by the Swiss artist to The Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York. Undeterred, he started putting together a new collection of works by Klee, and this is what shines through in the new wing of the museum, particularly the years from the Bauhaus, which was a period of great creative effervescence for Klee.

In the early years of his gallery, Heinz Berggruen had managed to assemble a significant group of Picassos, including the lovely pen-and-ink drawing Le dormeur, 1942 (bought from Paul Eluard in 1952). Further works bought in the fifties include the Verre d’absinthe, 1914, a large study for the Demoiselles d’Avignon and the Chandail jaune, 1939, acquired from Rosenberg in 1959. In the early sixties he bought Still-Life with Piano, 1911-12.

In those days, there were relatively few collectors compared to now. And there were plenty of works to be found locally in Paris or elsewhere, long before the art-market acquired a semblance of uniformity. My father’s interest lay not only in trophy paintings but also in quirky, intimate works (often on paper) such as the many Picassos on paper, which testify to the latter’s love of experimentation, whereby he re-used and rearranged formal and thematic elements from one medium to another. But surely Heinz Berggruen’s greatest opportunity came in 1979 with the dispersal of the Rosenberg Collection, sold by the heirs of Picasso’s dealer Paul Rosenberg. In the auction, my father succeeding in buying three works: Seated Nude drying her Foot, 1921, Still Life in front of a window, Saint Raphael, 1919, and The Sculptor and his Statue, 1933. These works are among the finest works of art at the Berggruen Museum.

During the last decades of Heinz Berggruen’s life, the collection was once again refined and redefined. Fast rising prices on the art market made his quest increasingly more difficult.  Nevertheless, some of his greatest successes took place in the auction room, with the acquisition of Picasso’s Reclining Nude, 1942 from the auction of Victor and Sally Ganz’s collection in 1997 and, a few years later, at Sotheby’s in New York, with the purchase of Nu jaune, 1907, a fresh, vivid study on paper for the Demoiselles d’Avignon.  Then there were some of the works bought from the estate of Dora Maar, including the iconic Dora Maar with Green Finger Nails, 1936.

Towards the end of his life, Heinz Berggruen also came around to Picasso’s late works, which he had neglected earlier.  Although he thought that Picasso was at his best in later years as a printmaker and draughtsman (of which he had accumulated significant examples), he thought that the museum should also have a few major, late paintings, such as Matador and Nude, 1970. With such a comprehensive collection of works by Picasso, more space was needed than the original Stuler-Bau could offer,  and devoting the new wing solely to Picasso achieves that goal. Many visitors have remarked on the intimate scale of the rooms, which are indeed suited for the exhibition of works which are all part of the tradition of easel painting.

Pablo Picasso, Les Femmes d‘Alger, 1955

When my brother Nicolas and I were informed of the plans for the extension of the museum under the capable direction of the team of architects Kuhn Malvezzi, it was agreed among family members, including my mother, Bettina Berggruen, that we would join forces in order to place on long-term loan some family works of art as well. In addition to this, we were able to acquire a few key works with the idea of complementing the existing collection. Among them, Femmes d’Alger (Version L) by Picasso, and a magnificent Klee painting from the Bauhaus period.

The new wing’s design by Kuhn Malvezzi achieves coherence, since old and new wings have comparable proportions and a similar feeling.  The rooms on either side of the glass link between the two wings have been ingenuously devoted to sculpture—Picasso and Matisse on the one end, Giacometti on the other. Finally, the new wing allows for the hanging to be modified, and to provide space for temporary exhibitions focused on the artists in the collection and their influence on the latter part of the 20th Century.

Extended Museum Berggruen: Stülerbau, glass pavillon & Kommandantenhaus, Photo:
Museum Berggruen interior, Photo: HC Krass
Museum Berggruen interior, Photo: HC Krass
Museum Berggruen interior, Photo: H.C. Krass
Museum Berggruen interior, Photo: H.C. Krass
Museum Berggruen interior, Photo: H.C. Krass
Museum Berggruen interior, rotunda spiral staircase. Photo: H.C. Krass

Das Museum Berggruen - Nationalgalerie - Staatliche Museen zu Berlin

Das Museum Berggruen zählt zu den weltweit bedeutendsten Museen der Klassischen Moderne. Es präsentiert die von
Heinz Berggruen zusammengetragene Kunstsammlung von großen Werkkomplexen der hervorragendsten Künstler des
20. Jahrhunderts: Pablo Picasso, Henri Matisse, Paul Klee und Alberto Giacometti.

Heinz Berggruen (1914-2007) zeigte 1996 auf Einladung der Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin seine Kunstsammlung unter dem Titel 'Picasso und seine Zeit' im eigens dafür hergerichteten, klassizistischen Stülerbau, gegenüber vom Schloß Charlottenburg. In einer international geschätzten Geste der Versöhnung überleignete er vier Jahre später die 165 Werke umfassende Kunstsammlung seiner Heimatstadt Berlin und der Öffentlichkeit. Nach seinem Tod entschied die Familie das Museum mit Werken aus dem Privatbesitz zu ergänzen. Hierfür wurde das benachbarte Gebäude am Spandauer Damm umgestaltet und mit einer gläsernen Pergola mit dem Stülerbau-West verbunden. Im Hof der Gebäude entstand ein Skulturengarten.

Sammlung Berggruen

Sein erstes Kunstwerk kaufte Heinz Berggruen als Sechsundzwanzigjähriger, 1940 im amerikanischen Exil in San Fransisco: Das Aquarell Perspektiv-Spuk von Paul Klee. Ohne Kapital und Sponsoren begann er sieben Jahre später,  mit der Eröffnung seiner Galerie in Paris, Kunst zu sammeln. Dabei verließ er sich auf sein Gefühl für Qualität und seine Intuition und konzentrierte sich bewusst auf die Arbeit weniger Meister der klassischen Moderne. Pablo Picasso gewährte ihm das Privileg seine Druckgraphik exklusiv handeln zu dürfen. Neben dem Aufbau einer Sammlung von Picasso-Werken aus allen Schaffens-phasen des Künstlers, konzentrierte sich Heinz Berggruen in den folgenden fünfzig Jahren auf die Sammlung von Werken von Pablo Picasso, Henri Matisse, Paul Klee und Alberto Giacometti. Er entdeckte als erster, noch zu Lebzeiten von Henri Matisse, die Bedeutung von dessen fast abstrakten Spätwerk. Die Sammlung von Matisse-Werken ist die größte in Deutschland ausgestellte Sammlung seiner Werke. 1988 stellte Heinz Berggruen seine Kunstsammlung erstmals im Kunstmuseum in Genf aus. Anschließend war sie fünf Jahre lang in der National Gallery in London zu sehen, bevor sie 1996 im eigens dafür umgestalteten Stülerbau in Berlin-Charlottenburg präsentiert wurde.

Den Schwerpunkt der Sammlung Berggruen bildet das Werk von Pablo Picasso mit über 100 Exponaten aus allen seinen Schaffensphasen. Beginnend mit einem Studienblatt aus dem sechzehnten Lebensjahr des Künstlers, umfasst die Sammlung Werke der Rosa und Blauen Periode, des Kubismus, Klassizismus und des Spätwerkes bis zum Jahr 1972. Afrikanische Skulpturen ergänzen die Ausstellung der Werke von Picasso. Einzelne Werke von Georges Braque und Henri Laurens ergänzen die Sammlung.

Mit über 60 Werken ist der zweite Schwerpunkt des Sammlung Berggruen der poetischen Kunst von Paul Klee gewidmet. Die in der Sammlung Gezeigten 20 Werke von Henri Matisse stellen die größte in Deutschland öffentlich gezeigte Werkschau des Künstlers dar. Skulpturen von Alberto Giacometti bilden den den Auftakt wie Abschluss der Sammlungspräsentation im Museum Berggruen.

 

Pablo Picasso, Der gelbe Pullover, 1939

Henri Matisse, Die Seilspringerin, 1952

 

Olivier Berggruen: Die Sammlung im Museum Berggruen

Mit dem im Frühjahr 2013 erweiterten Museum Berggruen steht der von meinem verstorbenen Vater Heinz Berggruen zusammengetragenen Sammlung nun der Raum zur Verfügung, der ihr gebührt. Die Sammlung ist auf zwei Flügel aufgeteilt: der eine ist hauptsächlich Picasso gewidmet, der andere Cézanne, Matisse, Giacometti und Klee. Dadurch erhält der Besucher einen Einblick in die jeweilige Entwicklung dieser Künstler und auch in die Art und Weise, in der ihre Werke miteinander verknüpft sind.

Die Sammlung meines Vaters, entstanden aus der durch den Zweiten Weltkrieg verursachten Vertreibung zahlloser Menschen – er erwarb seine erste Klee-Zeichnung von einem anderen deutschen Emigranten 1940 in Chicago – erfuhr im Laufe der Jahre zahlreiche Inkarnationen. Im Jahre 1988 wurde sie der Öffentlichkeit zum ersten Mal im Musée d’art et d’histoire in Genf vorgestellt.

Wie der amerikanische Chronist James Lord einst anmerkte, interessierte sich Heinz Berggruen in erster Linie für die Arbeit einer Handvoll moderner Künstler; Klee, Picasso, Cézanne, Matisse und Giacometti wurden zu tragenden Stützen seiner Sammlung.

Mein Vater war auch der geistige Erbe der Kunsthändler und -sammler des frühen zwanzigsten Jahrhunderts, wie z.B. Wilhelm Uhde und D.H. Kahnweiler, die wie er deutsche Wurzeln hatten und eine ähnliche ästhetische Sensibilität aufwiesen. Die zentrale Figur in seiner ästhetischen Entwicklung war jedoch der englische Kunstkritiker und Sammler Douglas Cooper (1911-1984).

Mein Vater schloss Freundschaft mit Cooper und erwarb schließlich einige Kunstwerke (unter anderem von Klee) aus dessen Sammlung. Nach Picasso hatte Cooper den größten Einfluss auf seine Karriere. In den Fünfziger Jahren war Heinz Berggruen zu einem so erfolgreichen Kunsthändler und Verleger geworden, dass er im großen Stil einkaufen und sammeln konnte. Unter seinen ersten bedeutenden Anschaffungen war Cézannes Bildnis seines Gärtners Vallier, ein vibrierendes Aquarell aus seinem Spätwerk, das sich vorher in der Sammlung Vollard befand. Es ist eine von zwei wegweisenden Arbeiten, die in einer Cézanne gewidmeten Galerie im Parterre des neuen Museumsflügels ausgestellt sind; die andere ist ein kontemplatives Porträt von Cézannes Frau Hortense Fiquet.

Paul Klee, Versiegelte Dame, 1930

Zu den ersten Künstlern, mit denen er sich tiefgehender befasste, gehörte natürlich Paul Klee. Kostproben dessen Schaffens wurden von Paul Éluard, einem der ersten Sammler Klees in Frankreich, von Douglas Cooper und von Marie-Laure de Noailles, der heimlichen Schutzherrin der Surrealisten, bereitgestellt. Die Klee-Sammlung wurde im Laufe der Jahre beträchtlich erweitert. Das Jahr 1984 markierte einen Meilenstein: Heinz Berggruen stiftete 90 Arbeiten des Schweizer Künstlers dem New Yorker Metropolitan Museum of Art. Unbeirrt machte er sich daran, eine neue Sammlung von Werken Klees zusammenzustellen, was im neuen Flügel des Museums zum Ausdruck kommt. Hier sind insbesondere Werke aus der Bauhaus-Zeit, in der Klee eine überschäumende Kreativität an den Tag legte, ausgestellt.

In den ersten Jahren seiner Tätigkeit als Galerist konnte Heinz Berggruen bedeutende Werke Picassos zusammenstellen, einschließlich der wunderbaren Tuschzeichnung Le dormeur von 1942 (1952 von Paul Eluard erworben). Weitere in den Fünfzigern gekaufte Arbeiten sind Verre d’absinthe, 1914, eine großformatige Studie für die Demoiselles d’Avignon, und Chandail jaune, 1939, erworben 1959 von Rosenberg. Anfang der Sechziger erwarb er Stillleben mit Piano, 1911-12.

In jener Zeit gab es im Vergleich zu heute relativ wenig Sammler. Und lange bevor der Kunstmarkt einer gewissen Einförmigkeit anheimfiel, gab es in Paris oder anderswo eine Vielzahl von Kunstwerken zu entdecken. Mein Vater interessierte sich nicht nur für meisterliche Gemälde, sondern auch für ganz eigene, intimere Werke (oft auf Papier) wie z.B. die vielen Picasso-Arbeiten auf Papier, in denen Picasso in seiner typischen Experimentierfreudigkeit formelle und thematische Elemente von einem Medium zum anderen übertrug und neu verortete. Doch Heinz Berggruens große Stunde schlug 1979, als die Rosenberg Collection von den Erben Paul Rosenbergs, Picassos Händler, veräußert wurde. In der Auktion erhielt mein Vater den Zuschlag für drei Arbeiten: Sitzender Akt, sich den Fuß trocknend , 1921, Stillleben vor einem Fenster, Saint Raphael, 1919, und Der Bildhauer und seine Statue, 1933. Diese Arbeiten gehören zu den schönsten Kunstwerken des Museums Berggruen.

In seinen letzten Lebensjahrzehnten entwickelte Heinz Berggruen die Sammlung weiter und definierte sie neu. Seine Mission wurde durch schnell steigende Preise am Kunstmarkt immer schwieriger. Dennoch erzielte er einige seiner größten Erfolge im Auktionssaal: mit dem Erwerb von Picassos Liegender Akt, 1942, aus der Versteigerung von Victor und Sally Ganz’ Sammlung 1997 und, einige Jahre später, bei Sotheby’s in New York mit dem Kauf von Nu jaune, 1907, einer frischen lebhaften Studie auf Papier für die Demoiselles d’Avignon. Außerdem erwarb er einige Arbeiten aus dem Nachlass von Dora Maar, einschließlich des ikonischen Werkes Dora Maar mit grünen Fingernägeln, 1936.

Als sich sein Leben dem Ende zuneigte, begann sich Heinz Berggruen auch mit Picassos späten Arbeiten, die er früher außer Acht gelassen hatte, zu beschäftigen. Er glaubte zwar, dass Picasso in späteren Jahren als Grafiker und Zeichner die besten künstlerischen Ergebnisse erzielte (und für diese These gibt es in seiner Sammlung einige Beweise), war aber auch der Meinung, dass das Museum einige wichtige späte Gemälde wie z.B. Matador und weiblicher Akt, 1970, sein eigen nennen sollte. Angesichts dieser großen Spannbreite an Picasso-Arbeiten wurde mehr Raum, als der ursprüngliche Stüler-Bau bieten konnte, benötigt. Dieses Problem wurde gelöst, indem der gesamte neue Flügel den Werken Picassos gewidmet wurde. Vielen Besuchern sind die intimen Abmessungen der Räume aufgefallen; diese eignen sich in der Tat für die Präsentation von Werken, die ausnahmslos der Tradition der Staffeleimalerei verpflichtet sind.

Pablo Picasso, Les Femmes d‘Alger, 1955

Als mein Bruder Nicolas und ich von den Plänen zur Erweiterung des Museums unter der kompetenten Leitung des Architekturbüros Kuehn Malvezzi erfuhren, beschloss die Familie einschließlich meiner Mutter Bettina Berggruen, eine Reihe von Kunstwerken aus dem Familienbesitz langfristig zu beleihen. Außerdem konnten wir einige bedeutende Arbeiten erwerben und so die bestehende Sammlung ergänzen. Eine davon ist Picassos Frauen von Algier (Version L) und ein großartiges Klee-Gemälde aus der Bauhaus-Periode. 

Bei der Gestaltung des neuen Flügels achteten Kuehn Malvezzi auf Kohärenz, so dass der alte und neue Flügel vergleichbare Proportionen und eine ähnliche Ausstrahlung haben. Die Räume auf beiden Seiten des Glasgangs zwischen den beiden Gebäudeteilen sind der Bildhauerei gewidmet – Picasso und Matisse an dem einen Ende, Giacometti am anderen. Und schließlich ist der neue Flügel für eine flexible Hängung konzipiert und bietet Platz für temporäre Ausstellungen zu bestimmten Künstlern der Sammlung und deren Einfluss auf die zweite Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts.